Candidates prepare for municipal elections
by Denise Strub
Mar 18, 2013 | 2219 views | 0 0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The qualifying deadline for municipal elections is passed and so candidates begin their campaigning.

Although The Bolivar Commercial was unable to make contact with a few city halls, it appears that Cleveland will be the only municipality with a primary election.

The primary election will be on May 7, while the general election will be on June 4.

According to City Administrator John Lindsey, who is acting as city clerk, all incumbent city officials have filed to continue in their positions.

Incumbent Cleveland officials are Billy Nowell, mayor; Maurice Smith, Ward 1; Robert Sanders, Ward 2; Danny Abraham, Ward 3; Ted Campbell, Ward 4; Paul Janoush, Ward 5; Kirkham Povall, Ward 6; and Gary Gainspoletti, At-large.

Also running for alderman are Cynthia Blockett, Ward 1; Kevin Cox, Ward 3; and Ajax Morris, At-large.

Lindsey said despite a few details these are the candidates for Cleveland and “now I have to do a ballot.”

According to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office, absentee ballots for the primary must be ready by Saturday.

In addition municipal clerks are encouraged to remain open from 8 a.m.-7 p.m. April 1-5 and from 8 a.m.-noon April 6 for voter registration

In other Bolivar County municipalities, aldermen will be selected from the top five candidates receiving the most votes on June 4.

Candidates include:

Renova — Mayor: Harvey Green, Jimmy Parker; Aldermen: Tony Anders, Juanita Green, Milton Hunt, Lenora Payne, Elbert Scott, Frank Williams

Gunnison — Mayor: Frances Ward; Aldermen: James Braby, Landonia Jones,

John Calmese, Clara Pearson, Linda Taylor, Yriccia Robinson, Demorris Raymond

Mound Bayou — Mayor: Kennedy Johnson, Bonita Conwell, Darryl Johnson; Aldermen: Regina Spann, Shelton Woodley, Linda Collins, James Henry, Lillie Clifton, Derek Bell, Eulah Peterson, DeLoris Daughtiry, Jerry Norwood

Pace — Mayor: Robert LaFlore Sr., Levon Jackson Sr., L. Diane Pearce; Aldermen: Toshiuenda Brown, Larry D. Walker Sr., Beverly A. Shelly, Benny Hamilton, Mark Hall, Brenda Bryant

Merigold — Mayor: Andrew Westerfield; Aldermen: Charles Miller, Johnny Wesley Thomas, Peirce Criss, William “Billy” Latham, Ken McGarrh

Shelby — Mayor: Kermit Stanton, Dan Harris, Jethro Henderson; Aldermen: Harold Billing, Curtis Hooper, Peggy Mengarelli, Nathaniel Boss, Dedra Peterson, Cary Miller, Terry Washington, Samuel Pittmon, George Fields, Trent Franklin, Eunice Sanders, Wilbert E. Tell.