Final Cleveland ballots counted
by Denise Strub
May 14, 2013 | 1719 views | 0 0 comments | 8 8 recommendations | email to a friend | print
All votes in the Cleveland election for the mayor and board of aldermen have been counted and the results remain the same — all incumbents stay in office.

Friday morning the election commission gathered to review and count the affidavit ballots.

“We had about 75 to go through,” said John Lindsey, city administrator and acting city clerk.

Affidavit ballots must be verified by address and ward and now the elections must be approved by the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office.

The biggest election on May 7 was the citywide alderman-at-large position with incumbent Gary Gainspoletti running against challenger Ajax Morris.

Final tallies are: Ward 1 — Gainspoletti, 55, Morris, 123; Ward 2 — Gainspoletti, 52, Morris, 108; Ward 3 — Gainspoletti, 459, Morris, 13; Ward 4 — Gainspoletti, 257, Morris, 13; Ward 5 — Gainspoletti, 371, Morris, 12; and Ward 6 — Gainspoletti, 17, Morris, 61.

Gainspoletti won the seat with 1,211 votes to Morris’ 330.

In Ward 1, Maurice Smith retains his seat with 114 votes to Cynthia Blockett’s 54 and in Ward 3, Danny Abraham stays in office with 276 votes to Kevin Cox’s 198.

With no competition in the other wards or for mayor, all incumbents automatically win and since there are no independent challengers, there will be no Cleveland election on June 4.

Cleveland leaders are Mayor Billy Nowell and alderman, Kirk Povall, Robert Sanders, Ted Campbell and Paul Janoush.

The Cleveland Board of Aldermen will hold its regular May meeting today at 6:30 p.m. at city hall.