Obama, Thompson, Gore take Bolivar
by Chance Wright
Nov 07, 2012 | 3089 views | 0 0 comments | 15 15 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Tuesday's general election brought tight races on the local, state and national levels.

According to the unofficial results, 14,365 voters went to the polls in Bolivar County.

The county also accumulated approximately 750 absentee ballots and nearly 800 affidavit ballots.

Absentee ballots are ballots marked and mailed in advance by a voter who is away from the place where he or she is registered vote.

Affidavit ballots, more commonly called provisional ballots, are ballots used in United States elections when a person's right to vote in a particular district is in dispute.

According the Bolivar County Circuit Clerk Marilyn Kelly, the higher numbers of affidavit ballots were a result of resident going to the polls who had not previously registered to vote.

At the top of the county's ticket, incumbent Democratic candidate Barack Obama defeated Republican Mitt Romney by a vote of 9,772 to 4,346 for president.

Others receiving votes from with in the county were; Virgil Goode (48), Gary Johnson (52), Jill Stein (21), Barbara Dale Washer (19), and 11 write in votes.

In the state Senate race, Democratic candidate Albert N. Gore Jr. received 7,659 votes to take the county victory over incumbent Republican candidate Roger F. Wicker, who received 4,585 votes. Others receiving county votes in this race were; Thomas Cramer (251), Shawn O'Hara (186), and three write in votes.

Incumbent Democratic candidate Bennie Thompson ran way with the county vote for representative of the 2nd U.S. Congressional District.

Thompson received 9,769 votes while Republican candidate Bill Marcy got 3,863. Others receiving county votes in this race were; C. Mondale Williams (145), Lajena Williams (55), and five write in votes.

The county was divided in the District One Supreme Court, position one race. W.L. "Bill" Waller Jr. edged out Earle S. Banks by a tally of 5,905 to 5,169. There were also nine write in votes.

Running unopposed, Leslie D. King received 8,357 votes for District One Supreme Court, position two. There were also 14 write in votes cast.

Also running unopposed were, David W. Washington, Election Commissioner One, Debbie L. Duncan, Election Commission Two, Shelia Perry, Election Commissioner Three, Yvonne Cross Hannah, Election Commissioner Four, and Lisa Regan, Election Commissioner Five.

In the race for Shaw school board trustee, sub-district five, the votes were split and a run-off election may be needed to determine the winner. Carolyn Williams tallied 145 votes, or 38.26 percent, over incumbent Leon McNeal, 124, or 32.72 percent, and George Ballard, 110, or 29.02 percent.

In the race for position two of District Two for the Court of Appeals, Ceola James defeated Ermea "EJ" Russell by a vote of 6,157 to 2,920. There were also 17 write in votes counted.

The county election totals were late to report last night as the Election Commission was forced to return to the voting precincts in the Shaw area to obtain additional information from the voting machines. The results from these three precintcs were not tallied until after 11 p.m. on Tuesday.

Also, the 28 precinct-by-precinct totals for Bolivar County were not available at presstime due to what was called by Kelly as "a computer glitch in the system" at the Cleveland Courthouse.

The Election Commission, in collaboration with the Bolivar County Circuit Clerk's Office, has a tentative schedule beginning today at 4 p.m. through Saturday for certification.