East Side teams highlight All-Region Team
by Donell Maxie
Feb 12, 2013 | 1404 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Heading into the Region 4-3A tournament tonight the East Side Trojans and Trojanettes have a lot to feel good about.

Region officials held their annual region meeting on Saturday at East Side High School and the Trojans and Trojanettes took home all the top regular season honors.

Trojanettes head coach Jaboria Walker was named Co-Coach of the Year along with Velma Jackson's Tameika Brown.

Walker and the Trojanettes posted a 23-3 mark this season with a 10-0 record in the region, which earned East Side the No. 1 seed going into the region tournament.

With the No. 1 seed, the Trojanettes will play the winner of the J.J. McClain versus Leflore County game at 7 p.m. Thursday.

The Trojanettes also celebrated senior guard/forward LaShyra Cotton who was named Player of the Year. Cotton, who was a Dandy Dozen selection to start the season, is averaging 22.8 points per game and 8.8 rebounds per game.

In addition to being named Player of the Year, Cotton was also named a first team selection. Joining Cotton on the first team was Ruleville's Shakira Singleton.

Other area players included are: East Side's Carvacier Sanders and Ruleville's Brunetta Cockrell who made the second team. East Side's Errica Blair was named honorable mention.

On the boys side, East Side head coach Leroy Cotton was named Boys Coach of the Year. Cotton led the Trojans to a 17-9 overall mark with a 7-3 third place finish in the region.

Cotton's Trojans will play at 8:30 p.m. tonight against Leflore County at home in day one of the Region 4-3A Tournament.

East Side's Charles Jackson and Velma Jackson's Quinndarius Weatherspoon were named Co-Player of the Year. Jackson is averaging 15 points per game and 7.2 rebounds per game.

Jackson was also named to the first team along with teammate Jon Paul Davis. Ruleville's Demarcus Bracey was named to the second team while his teammates Xavier Appleberry and Tyquan Rule were named honorable mention.