Cleveland incumbents remain in office
by Denise Strub
May 08, 2013 | 2423 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The leadership of Cleveland will remain the same for the next four years.

According to poll numbers from Tuesday’s Primary Election, voter turn out was small but unofficial tallies showed all incumbents remaining in their position for mayor and aldermen.

Only three incumbents were challenged, Maurice Smith in Ward 1, Danny Abraham in Ward 3 and Gary Gainspoletti in Alderman-At-Large.

With no competition in the other wards or for mayor, all incumbents automatically win and since there are no independent challengers, there will be no Cleveland election on June 4.

Challenging Smith in Ward 1 was Cynthia Blockett. She received 51 votes to his 139.

Vying for alderman against Abraham in Ward 3 was Kevin Cox, who lost with 187 votes to Abraham’s 253.

The big election for the day was Aldermen-At-Large, which included voters from all Wards in the city.

Ajax Morris opposed incumbent Gary Gainspoletti, who won with a total of 1,152 votes to 324.

Tallies are: Ward 1 — Gainspoletti, 54, Morris, 120; Ward 2 — Gainspoletti, 50, Morris, 106; Ward 3 — Gainspoletti, 424, Morris, 13; Ward 4 — Gainspoletti, 247, Morris, 13; Ward 5 — Gainspoletti, 17, Morris, 60; and Ward 6 — Gainspoletti, 360, Morris, 12.

Vote totals did include absentee votes and curbside votes.

Affidavit ballots will be counted beginning at 9:30 a.m. Friday at city hall. Following the count, tallies will be sent to the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office for confirmation of results.