Candidates finalized for school board elections in November
Oct 03, 2013 | 3383 views | 0 0 comments | 28 28 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Candidates for Bolivar County school boards have been updated and approved for the Nov. 5 election.

School districts with elections include the Cleveland School District and the two districts to be formed next year under a Mississippi Legislative mandate — the North Bolivar Consolidated School District and the West Bolivar Consolidated School District.

Qualifying for the North Bolivar Consolidated School District, which will encompass North Bolivar and Mound Bayou Districts, are Subdistrict 1 — Evelina George, Roger Morris and John Coleman; Subdistrict 2 — Sylvia Coleman, Anita Smith and William Lucas Jr.; Subdistrict 3 — Glen Scott, Carrie R. Gallion and Tyrone Miller; Subdistrict 4 — Jacklon Haywood, Joseph Womack, Anthony Pitts, Frederick King and Tracy Dunn; and Subdistrict 5 — Jefferick Butler. 

Candidates for the West Bolivar Consolidated School District, which will include West Bolivar School District, Shaw School District and Benoit School Districts, are: Subdistrict 1 — Ruby Miller and Dale Ward; Subdistrict 2 — Evelyn Henry; Subdistrict 3 — Evereth Stanton; Subdistrict 4 — Elexo Robinson, Pamela Tucker, Kenyun Johnson and Levon Jackson Sr.; and Subdistrict 5 — Kimithy McKenzie, Blanch Turnage, Queen Coleman and Jacqueline Lloyd.

The Mississippi Legislature voted that Bolivar County had to reduce the number of its school district and mandated that the five county districts would become two and Cleveland School District would remain as is.

Cleveland School District Subdistrict 3 was open for candidates and incumbent Richard Boggs was the only qualifier. 

In a previous story according to Interim Deputy Superintendent for the Mississippi Department of Education Mike Kent, the decision making powers for the school districts will be in the hands of the existing boards until July 1, 2014. 

Kent explained further that the central office of the new North Bolivar School District would be placed in Mound Bayou and in the West Bolivar District, it would be placed in Shelby. 

However, Kent said, according to Mississippi Code, a school board for a particular school district can vote to move that central office to any location that they so choose. 

According to the numbers presented by the MDE, after the consolidation occurs the North Bolivar School District would be comprised of approximately 1,265 students and the West Bolivar School District have approximately 1,689 students.

Kent said redistricting of the school districts was lead by PEER with support from MDE and the secretary of state’s office. 

Once voting lines were mapped out, the U.S. Department of Justice had final approval.