UWF wins 1st GSC Title
by Andy Collier
Mar 11, 2014 | 1083 views | 0 0 comments | 23 23 recommendations | email to a friend | print
The quest for a Gulf South Conference Championship ended in disappointment for the Delta State University Lady Statesmen as they lost to the University of West Florida Lady Argonauts 67-59 in the finals of the GSC Women’s Basketball Tournament at the Pete Hanna Center in Birmingham, Ala. Sunday evening.

The win gave West Florida (19-10) its first ever GSC Title.

The Lady Statesmen (24-5) were outrebounded 39-29. West Florida was also 16-of-25 from the free throw line, while DSU was just 7-of-11 at the charity stripe.

“What hurt us was I think West Florida came out with a little more intensity than we did and that showed in some hustle stats,” Lady Statesmen head coach David Midlick said. “They had more offensive rebounds than we did, and I thought they beat us to some loose balls. I thought we changed that in the second half and really competed. We just fell a few baskets short.”

Seneca Walton, who was averaging 14.5 points and rebounder 9.6 rebounds heading into Sunday, was held to just five points on 2-of-8 shooting with six rebounds.

Chelsey Rhodes led the Lady Statesmen with 17 points, six rebounds, four assists and two steals, followed by Anissa Jackson with 12 points and Shanae Govan with 12 points and four steals.

Toynetta Johnson led the Lady Argonauts with 16 points and nine rebounds, followed by Jenny Menz with 12 points, Tessah Holt with 11 points and seven rebounds and Katie Bobos with 10 points and 10 rebounds.

Walton and Rhodes earned all-tournament team honors for DSU, while Bobos, Johnson and Holt earned all-tournament team honors for UWF with Holt beginning named Most Outstanding Player.

Delta State and West Florida are the two GSC teams that will advance to the South Region Tournament at Nova Southeastern University in Fort Lauderdale,

Fla. DSU (No. 4 seed) will play Albany State (No. 5 seed) at 6:30 p.m. CST on Friday, while West Florida (No. 7 seed) will play Tampa (No. 2 seed) at 1:30 p.m. CST on Friday.