2014 President’s Volunteer Service Award Recipients
Mar 22, 2014 | 3512 views | 0 0 comments | 31 31 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Volunteer Northwest Mississippi will honor recipients of the 2014 President’s Volunteer Service Awards, including Nan Sanders, on April 8, 2014 at a dinner to be held at the Landers Center in Southaven, Mississippi. The public is invited to attend this event to support our wonderful volunteers. Tickets are $25 per person and can be purchased through the Community Foundation no later than April 2, 2014.

The awards are made possible through The President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation established in 2003 to recognize the valuable contributions volunteers are making in our communities and encourage more people to serve. The Council created the President’s Volunteer Service Award program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. For more information on the award or the honorees, please visit www.volunteernwms.org.

Individuals from throughout the ten-county region serviced by Volunteer Northwest Mississippi and the Community Foundation have been chosen to receive this award and the recipients include one from Bolivar County. To find out more about each of these individuals and their volunteer efforts, please attend our banquet on April the 8th at the Landers Center.

Nan Sanders of Cleveland is a friend of the arts in Mississippi and a dedicated volunteer with Delta State University and the Mississippi Arts Commission as well as the Grammy Museum Project. Nan has three children and six grandchildren and has received numerous awards including the Hugh Ellis Walker Alumni Service Award with Delta State University.

“Volunteer Northwest Mississippi, a volunteer center and initiative of the Community Foundation of Northwest Mississippi, is honored to recognize the 2014 recipients”, stated Anna Dickerson, Director of Volunteer Northwest Mississippi. “This is the seventh year that we have presented the awards, and each year the list of volunteers nominated grows, which proves that there are always outstanding volunteers and the reason we started Volunteer Northwest Mississippi, to connect people who care with causes that matter.”

The remaining 2014 recipients are from the Community Foundation’s other nine counties served and they include:

Jason Shelby and Daniel Vassel of Coahoma County; Sandy Adair, Renee Anderson, Richard and Stephanie Dale, Melissa Edwards, Diane Franczyk, Hernando Skates, Lisa Johnson, David Miller, Jay Patel, Shana Phillips, Bettie Pruitt, and Seniors in Action of DeSoto County; Fergenia Hood of Marshall County; Belinda Morris of Panola County; Mayor Steve Rosenthal of Sunflower County; Jacquelyn Bell, Isabell Hays, and Cal Trout of Tallahatchie County; Tom Atkins and Cloteal Fitzpatrick of Tate County; and Evelyn Hubbard of Tunica County.

The dinner on April 8th will begin at 6 p.m. and the speaker will be Krista Estes, who currently works as the Volunteer Network Officer for Volunteer Mississippi. Krista has 30 years of experience in nonprofit and volunteer administration, including 16 years as the Chief Operating Officer of HandsOn Jacksonville, one of the nation’s largest volunteer centers with an annual budget in excess of $1K. Krista moved to Mississippi with her husband, Michael, in November 2009 and joined Volunteer Mississippi in April 2010. She has spent the past four years helping to develop and resource a network of six community volunteer centers throughout the state, in addition to a statewide, online volunteer recruitment and matching system available free of charge to all Mississippi nonprofit organizations. She also produces the annual Governor’s Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Awards that recognizes outstanding volunteers from every corner of the state. Krista has been promoting volunteerism for more than 25 years and has presented local, regional and national workshops on volunteer management programming, nonprofit management and board leadership.